Motorcycle Training Program - Basic
The Basic Rider Course is designed for riders of all ages. This State-approved/State required course consists of a minimum of five hours classroom instruction and at least ten hours of practical riding in a controlled, off-street environment.
In the classroom, you'll learn about the different types of motorcycles, their controls, how they operate and how to become a responsible rider. Your Rider Coach will advise you on what gear to wear for protection and comfort. You'll learn how alcohol and other drugs adversely affect your ability to ride safely.
The course concludes with a knowledge test and a riding skill evaluation. When your Rider Coach hands you the course-completion card, you will be happy knowing that you've gone the extra mile to develop your own safe riding techniques.
Upon successful completion of this program, students must present the appropriate paperwork to Department of Motor Vehicles to receive their motorcycle endorsement.
You are now part of the wonderful world of motorcycling!
Registration is on a first come basis. The class is limited to 8 students. Enrollment in the scooter division is limited to two (2) students per class and is on a first come basis. When registering, you must indicate if you want motorcycle or scooter instruction.
Students must have a valid driver’s license and students under 18 must have a parental waiver to participate.
Motorcycles, scooters, and helmets used in the program are supplied by the school. You may use a personal helmet but it must be DOT approved.
What are the BasicRider Course enrollment requirements?
Be at least 16 years old. Hold a valid driver’s license or a learner's driver license to enroll in the Basic Rider Course Having a basic knowledge of traffic laws, road signs and general "road rules" is an important pre-curser to the rider course. If under age 18, hold a learner’s license for one year with no traffic convictions. If under age 18, a parent/guardian must accompany the student to WTC for registration.
What does getting a "Motorcycle Only" driver license involve?
- Be at least 16 years old, and if under 18, hold a Learner's License for one year with no traffic convictions.
- Pass the same knowledge test as for a regular Class E operator's driver license.
- You must complete the basic motorcycle safety course.
- After you complete the course go to a driver license office or tax collector office that issues licenses and inform them that you completed the course. Upon providing proper ID and paying the required endorsement fees your license will be issued with a motorcycle endorsement.
Your license will be restricted to operating "Motorcycles Only."
The Department’s Florida Rider Training Program has a wealth of information on motorcycle safety and proper licensure. For more information, check out Florida Rider Training Program website.
Course Cost - $225
Download and print the above forms to register for the next class. Fill out the forms and mail them to WTC. You will then need to come by the Business Office to pay the class fees. Credit Card payments can be taken at the Business Office or by calling 352-726-2430 ext. 4304. Rider Handbook Materials will be given at the Business Office at time of payment. If you want this book to be mailed to you there is a $6.95 shipping fee.
Upcoming Course Schedule
- August 24, 26, and 27
- September 7, 9, and 10 RESCHEDULED DUE TO HURRICANE IRMA
- September 14, 16, and 17 Reschedule of September 7, 9, and 10
- September 21, 23, and 24
- October 12, 14, and 15
- October 19, 21, and 22
- November 16, 18, and 19
- November 30, December 2 and 3
- December 14, 16, and 17
- January 25, 27, and 28 2018
Courses are held on the days of the week and at the times indicated:
Thursday Night: 6pm – 9pm – Classroom Course
Saturday & Sunday: 7am – 3pm – Outside Course
Attendance is required at all class sessions.